Bonkered Much-ness.

I finally watched Tim Burton’s “Alice in Wonderland” this weekend. Neither of my daughters wanted to watch it. They thought it looked too dark. I rarely watch movies unless I’m with them. I’m so glad I indulged myself. The movie spoke to me.

Mad Hatter: Almost Alice Soundtrack

Mad Hatter: 'Almost Alice' Soundtrack

My favorite “Alice in Wonderland” movie quote:

“You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”

The movie feels like the story of my life. I expend a good deal of effort fighting battles to make the impossible possible. We have to bust open doors, knock down walls, build steps, pave paths for others to follow. Sometimes the battle is brutal, but always rewarding when we reach success.

Cheshire Cat: Almost Alice 2010 movie

Cheshire Cat

Sadly, many of us exist in a world of “can’t” or “won’t” or “never-been-done” or “not-on-my-watch.” I believe these are words that humans grow up hearing — from childhood to adulthood. These words are much easier and less time-consuming than “can” or “will” or “let’s try” or “what-can-I-do-to-help.” We get easily worn down by the process of life itself. If we listen to naysayers, we lose our way. Much like Alice did, once she lost her Dad.

“You’re not the same as you were before. You’ve lost your much-ness.” The Mad Hatter to Alice.

How many times do we lose our much-ness, when we share our ideas with others who tell us what we can’t or shouldn’t do? Or they tell us why our ideas won’t work, or what horrible things will happen if we try. We all need those people around us who can encourage and support us. But we also need to be that encouraging person for others in our lives. Listen to the Mad Hatter. He has much wisdom in the midst of his bonkeredness.

“It’s impossible!” Alice.

“Only if you believe it is.” Mad Hatter.

Alice In Wonderland Poster

Alice In Wonderland Poster

So here’s my appeal to you:

Stop living in reality. Live, instead, in the world of possibilities.

Reality is what others created for us. Possibilities are what WE create for ourselves.

Don’t ever let someone tell you what you can’t do. Only listen to those who help you figure out what you CAN do. Learn to trust the much-ness deep down inside you…where no “no” has ever touched. Then, surround yourself with a wonderland of tomorrows.

As for me,

I want to live my life with bonkered much-ness!

7 Comments

Filed under leadership

7 responses to “Bonkered Much-ness.

  1. sarahmontague

    Great post. Everyone should start with “What if we could….”

    When you are in the midst of a challenge – say a group of people working on a project are at a standstill – don’t accept defeat, until you pull back and renergize yourself. For example I find exercise clears my head and gives me energy to come back and try again. Others might paint, build robots, cook – whatever floats your boat.

    Also surround yourself with energizing support. I had a manager once who referred to it as “your own personal board of directors” they can be within an organization or group or outside of it. But the key is they believe in you.

    I’m with you. I want to live in Bonkered-muchness too.

  2. What a wonderful post. It’s easy to feel defeated by listening to the messages of “won’t work” or “that’s not how it’s been done before” but if there’s even an ounce of inspiration, it’s always worth exploring a possibility.
    Your emphasis on being the encouragement for someone elses possibilities is so important.
    Reminds me of one of my favourite parts from Alice in Wonderland:
    “Alice laughed: “There’s no use trying,” she said; “one can’t believe impossible things.”
    “I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was younger, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

    • bethbeck

      “Believe at least 6 impossible things before breakfast” would make a great Rx for society, don’t you think? I loved when Alice counted off 6 unbelievably impossible things (that came true) during the battle, giving herself courage for the fight.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bonkered Much-ness. « Bethbeck's Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. Cindy

    Beth, I agree 110%. Excellent post. If only more people could do the following…

    Stop living in reality. Live, instead, in the world of possibilities.

    Reality is what others created for us. Possibilities are what WE create for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

