What’s Your HeartSong?

Have you ever thought about how music defines us as humans? If music bubbles up from the very core of us, what tunes would you create: happy, sad, angry, discordant?

This weekend, I watched a History Channel special: “Beatles Go On Record.” As I listened to the progression of music the Beatles made together over the years, I experienced emotional flash-backs to my youth.

Beatles in iTunes

Beatles NOW on iTunes!

My first Beatles’ memory begins with the song “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” when I was in second grade. On one occasion when my relatives came to town for a visit, my cousin and I hid ourselves in my bedroom listening to records. We put on the Beatles and started dancing — think Twist.

The Twist (Dance)Note: To put this story in context, you should know that Baptists aren’t terribly fond of dancing. My grandpa and uncle were Baptist preachers, and my Daddy was a Baptist Minister for Music and Youth. (My youngest uncle Phil, only eight years older than me, is now a Baptist missionary in Zambia.)

Back to the story: While my cousin and I danced and sang in my room, the door burst open. My uncle looked apoplectic as he surveyed the scene before him: my cousin shimmering and shaking to “I Want to Hold Your Hand.” Where was I, you may wonder? BeHIND the door…unseen. Needless to say, things didn’t go well for my cousin that night.

Yes, the Beatles framed my experiences growing up. But they aren’t my only musical influences. Home itself was a musical experience. As kids, we wrote and performed musicals for the adults at family gatherings. I always wanted to grow up and become the Von Trapp Family singers. Between all the cousins, we had just enough bodies to perform.

Sound of Music: Von Trapp Family Singers

Sound of Music: Von Trapp Family Singers

When I was in junior high, Daddy created a musical group called Sound 70.  We performed across the state of Texas in churches, festivals, and even on a flatbed trailer-turned-stage with vocal singers, a Jesus Rock Band called Liberation Suite, drama, and bell ringers.

Sound 70: Liberation Suite

Sound 70: Liberation Suite

Rock music defines my generation. Classic Vinyl on XM radio lets me sing along with the Doors, Eric Clapton, The Who, Led Zepplin, and Creedence Clearwater Revival. You name it, they play it. Great for driving in traffic. But Christian Rock/Alternative music is still my preference — SwitchfootSanctus RealRelient K, Hawk Nelson, TobyMac, Remedy Drive, Jars of Clay,  Skillet, Barlow GirlNeedToBreathe, The AftersLifehouse, and more.

Music comes from deep down within the heart and soul.

Bowen's Heart

Sometimes the music flows from pain. I was deeply moved this weekend by the story of Sanctus Real lead singer Matt Hammit and his little son Bowen, who was born with a broken heart — literally.  ABC World News ran the story. I’ve been thinking about it ever since. Tiny Bowen was born with a congenital heart defect called Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome 0n September 9.

Matt wrote the song, All of Me, based on his family’s experience.

Little Bowen’s ordeal transformed into an incredibly beautiful song that touches so many lives beyond Matt’s family and friends. Matt tweets and blogs about the experience.

Music flows out of joy and pain, faith and frustration. I’m thankful for artists who share themselves through music, so that I can find myself inside what they create.

When you drill down really deep, what flows out of you?

What is YOUR heartsong?

4 Comments

Filed under artists, culture

4 responses to “What’s Your HeartSong?

  1. I have had so many heartsongs at different times in my life! Switchfoot’s “I Dare You To Move” is one of my all-time favorites. I also loved the song “All of Me” that Matt Hammit wrote for his son. That one’s a tear jerker for sure. I have been blessed over the past six years to have the privilege of writing and performing songs with my siblings in our band Truth Bomb. It’s really neat to go from being a fan of music and relating to what someone else wrote to finally being able to write songs myself. I’m still as big a fan of others’ music as I ever was, but now I can add to the conversation. Music is such a blessing!

    • beth beck

      Cool about your band Truth Bomb. I visited your website. How wonderful that you can create and serve together as family. Music is a blessing indeed!

  2. Victor Moraes

    Cool! I am impressed with the nice things that makes English music. Actually produce good things. There are a lot of crap, like those made by drugged depressive songs, trying to deconstruct rather than build, or go against the natural and good-manners, which is useful for functional structuring of society, they do this simply to appear under spotlight. Accept anything to appear in the media. Ideal worth any odd (which affect the maintenance of valid concepts). It really is important to critically expose the false morality and thought into a world under construction, but do this only to see flames and collapse, can not. As some say, unfortunately, in human actions not everything is perfect. But in the same humanity that individuals make mistakes and there are individuals disclose sick thoughts that create true gems. Long live freedom! How could I live without U2, Man At Work (Australia), The Police … among other bands that packed the most delicious moments of my life? I could cite a myriad of musical ensembles, especially Americans, who are lovely things: Bee Gees is an example of a good thing. Much more. Even those kind of irresponsible The Doors, Kiss, AC / DC, Metal, Ozzy (Black Sabbath or) among other musical fantasies sociopaths packed my crazy youth. Metallica has beautiful arrangements of guitar and bass. Pop Rock has so much good thing that I’d rather not name names. And how not to be hypnotized and start swinging the skull beneath the sound of electronic music? There are still Nat Cole (that we write?), Ray Charles, and that guy with a formidable voice that sang “New York, New York” (the voice as you speak). The other day I heard a song on the radio that might be called “Blue Eyes”, and came to the conclusion that this might be one of the most beautiful music I ever heard, romantic (in the hope that inspired passion between a man and a woman). I speak little English, but the little I understand it thought it was beautiful! So you’re right Beth, music is a blessing. Here in Brazil has good thing too, and I have fun too! Finally, we recall the classical music, I charm me with Ravel’s Bolero. Good Song!

Leave a Reply

